Tags

, ,

Tonight, Arkansas school board member Clint McCance apologized for going too far, and using the language that he used in telling gay youth to commit suicide.

In a Facebook posting last week, McCance posted that “queers” and “fags” should kill themselves – that is, if they don’t get AIDS and die first.

This comes as his reaction to wear Purple for Spirit day to address the 10 LBGT youth, that we are aware, of that committed suicide after being bullied.

McCance, vice president of his local school board did tell Anderson Cooper that he would resign for the good of his community and school.

McCance said that he is a big enough man to admit when he has done something wrong and this message is not who he is.

Other comments included, “I would disown my kids they were gay. They will not be welcome at my home or in my vicinity. I will absolutely run them off. Of course my kids will know better. My kids will have solid christian beliefs. See it infects everyone.”

His explanation is that he used a “bad choice of words.” He did not say that he did not believe his words, just that he was ignorant.

Tonight, when asked about again about those statements and would he run his children off, he said he would have to wait and see.

Anderson Cooper asked, “What are you sorry about?” McCance said, “I’m sorry I’ve hurt people with my comments.”

