Tags

, ,

Every time I watch an episode of “Season 25: Oprah Behind the Scenes” on OWN, I have a deeper “love” for Oprah.

It’s partially because she gives us an opportunity to see beyond the person we expect her to be as the host of “The Oprah Winfrey Show.” And it’s also because she seems like a person that I would like to call friend. But also because she inspires to want to be and do more with my life.

About a month ago, I sat down one Saturday and watched several episodes of her behind the scenes show. Believe it or not, the show that gave me a deeper respect was when she interviewed George W. Bush and his family. It actually has given me the desire to read Bush’s book, “Decision Points.” I have not read it yet but will do so after I get and read Jay Z’s “Decoded,” that was on the Favorite Things show.

Oprah’s voice is mesmerizing. I want to sit and just have a conversation with her. Not about her fame, the places she has traveled or the people she calls friend. It would be about the things and people that inspire her and drive her. You can always learn more about a person when you learn what they believe.

To cap off a great night, I watched Oprah’s “Master Class,” which again is a no holds barred look at her life from childhood to present day. WOW.

Some of the things that resonnated with me and my Twitter friends include:

“Every SINGLE thing that has happened in your life is preparing you for the moment that is to come.”

“Nothing about my life is lucky; a lot of grace, a lot of blessings…”

“You can rise above your circumstance.”

“We all become what we believe.”

So much of my world is constant but yet uncertain. While uncertainty is ever present, I do believe in what the future holds. I do believe that I will have the ability to travel and live in the world the way that I desire. I do believe that no one person will keep me from living and working abroad. I’m working to achieve it. As Oprah said, “We all become what we believe.”

So, what is it that you believe?

