Tags

I am excited to see the curls that are beginning to come together.

It’s been 11 months since my relaxer and love the hair growth. I am looking forward to the day that I can move forward without using staying with kinky or nubian twists. I’m not there yet. But I am prepping by introducing my hair to oils and other products that I had never used before.

I may or may not be like many transitioners, but I have decided to keep my hair in twists as I go through my transition phase. It’s in part because it is easier to maintain. And also because I was already having issues with my hair that I wanted to make this process be healthier for me than what I had been doing to it. I had been trying to cover up the damage and it wasn’t doing any good for me or my hair.

So, last summer I embarked on putting my first set of kinky twists in by myself. That was  a treat to say the least. After watching hours of YouTube videos on what it would take to truly take care for natural hair and trying to figure out what I needed to do to put the twists in, I went to work.

I know that this is more than a physical change. It is also a mental change. I am committed to it thanks to Curly Nikki, Black Onyx77, BlackIzBeautyful, PrettyDimples01, and others.

 

