Tags

,

Run with me.

I’m looking for ladies to come run with me. Black Girls Run! has launched running groups across the country to help women across the nation “preserve the sexy.” There are more than a dozen BGR! running groups including two in South Carolina — Columbia and Charleston.

I began long distance running two years ago in memory of my dad, who was in remission of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma before he was killed. Since I could not bring him back, I ran to honor his life and what he gave me and my brother.

In two years, I have completed three half marathons, two with the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s Team in Training program.  They were great but training was difficult at times because I wasn’t as experienced as the other runners. So, I either ran before the group or on my own. For each of those events and since then I have longed to find a running group with a variety of experience levels so we could grow together.

I am hopeful that Black Girls Run! Columbia will be a group of women with different experience levels so that I can prepare for the next half marathon and build endurance.

I have to chuckle because I never thought that I would be looking forward to another half marathon. While I was in high school, I thought it was insane to run more than a half mile in any one given moment. You see, I was a high jumper and then hurdler. Long distance was not in my vocabulary.

I’m still a little ambivalent about getting up on a Saturday morning to run a few miles before it gets to warm or getting off work to get a few miles under my feet. The difference is that I am in a place many of my friends are not. There’s a little euphoria that comes along with looking at my iPod Touch and seeing the distance Nike+ has logged for me.

So, are you ready to join me? Tell me when you’d like to get together to walk or run. And then join our online group.

I look forward to our first group run, which will be shortly after Easter, and to grow our team with my fellow ambassador. I think this will be a great opportunity to promote fitness among Black woman and spread the word that Black girls do run.

See you out there.

