Tags

,

Every Wednesday, Pickney’s Produce drops off boxes of goodies for members of the South Carolina Hospital Association. It’s like a surprise present each week. And for someone who loves to cook, it’s giving me the opportunity to try and cook dishes that are healthier.

Five weeks ago, we made a commitment to be a drop site for their Community Supported Agriculture (CSA). For the past few weeks we have received strawberries, collards, onions, swiss chard, and red leaf lettuce.

This week, our boxes had kale, cabbage, rutabaga, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, lettuce, beets, potatoes, and onions.

Tonight I took the potatoes and broccoli and made broccoli and cheese smashed potatoes courtesy of Rachel Ray. I am also planning on making stuffed cabbage this weekend.

Some of these vegetables will definitely allow me to try things like rutabagas, which I have never had before. I need to figure out what to do with them. Got any suggestions?

