How many miles would you drive for a loved one?

For me, I have driven diven about 20,000 miles in the course of two years. I faithfully drove back and forth to Tallahassee to spend one weekend a month with the love of my life, my godson.

Up until the day he moved with his parents to Florida, I had practically been with him everyday of his life. I told him that I could not move, but promised to my then 5-year-old love that I would come visit him. And that I did.

My journey allowed me to see and learn the back roads of Georgia. I traveled through some interesting towns passing by many Dollar General stores. However, yesterday I completed my last round trip. I picked him up and brought him back to live in South Carolina.

So, motherhood is back in full effect. I was always excited to get to him on a Thursday night. And I dreaded leaving on a Sunday afternoon.

The summer is here and there is a lot for us to do. One thing that he wants to do is learn how to fish. While I am not excited about it, we’ll do it. I’ll share how that goes.

What are some of your summer plans?

 

