For the past two years, I have traveled monthly to visit my one and only godson. He lived about 6.5 hours away by car. But as of the beginning of this school year, the distance has gotten farther. Now, there is no car ride in my travel plans. It requires an airline ticket to travel to the Midwest.

Last weekend I took an extra long weekend and visited. It’s the first in the every other monthly in person visits.

I’m already preparing for the months ahead…Christmas/his school break, February visit with a kid’s show, Spring Break in Chicago or something, and then the annual summer break. While all of our visits will be fun, I’m looking forward to the summer the most. I’m planning our summer vacation to the Caribbean.

Buddy taking a breather before boarding plane

In addition to visiting for the first time since the summer, I had to return his dog, Buddy. Each summer when he comes to visit, his dog must come too. If he is going to be gone for longer than a week, the dog comes too. So, with a pet carrier in tow, I traveled across the country with a dog. But like his 7-year-old owner, this was not his first time traveling the friendly skies. Buddy has also had a trip aboard a plane two summers ago, when I had to get him home.

I love to travel and have instilled the same love in him. My godson has been traveling the country since he was an infant. He’s actually my best and favorite travel companion. Some of our trips have landed us in Baltimore, New York City, Philadelphia and Florida to just name a few.

It’s cool to begin preparing for the months ahead…Christmas/his school break, February visit with a kid’s show, Spring Break in Chicago or something, and then the annual summer break. While all of our gatherings will be fun, I’m looking forward to the summer the most. I’m already planning our summer vacation to the Caribbean. He will be really really excited when he finds out. It’s going to kill me to keep it a secret. Where are some of the cool places you have taken your children to?

