Tags

, ,

I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions, because it can be hard to stick to stuff like “eat better” and “exercise more” without any concrete end-game. Personally, I find it much more effective to set a goal like “run a half marathon” and use that as a carrot to stick to anything resolution-like.

So, that being said, these are a few of my running goals for 2012:

  • Finish two half marathons.
  • Run 20-25 miles a week.
  • Run more than 1,000 miles during the entire year (average of 19.2 miles per week).
  • Set at least one PR (for a distance I’ve raced before).
  • Decrease the amount I owe in credit (obviously not running, but very important).

Keeping those goals in mind, I have started my 2012 race schedule. These are the races that I’d love to do, but I know I won’t do them all if only for the sake of saving entry fees.

1/28: Red Nose Run 10K
3/3: Palmetto State O-Run
3/17: Rock ‘n’ Roll DC Half Marathon (registered)
3/31: Cooper River Bridge Run (registered)
4/28: Providence Hospitals Heart & Sole Five Miler
5/6: Lincoln Half
10/13: Ray Tanner Home Run 12K
10/21: Rock ‘n’ Roll St. Louis Half Marathon

I’m not the biggest fan of getting out and running miles and miles, but I am very proud of my accomplishments when I am done. I am also very proud to say that I have completed X amount of miles before most people have gotten out of the bed on a given Saturday morning.

So, let the New Year begin and off to the pavement I go.

