Tags

, ,

This week while I was walking through the grocery store and a pretty red vegetable caught my attention. It was the same fruit that I had recently read about in the Fooducate blog.

Snack-Girl convinced me that I should try out my first crisp recipe made with rhubarb. Yes, rhubarb. Well, rhubarb and strawberry crisp.

I haven’t tried it yet, but the smells coming from the kitchen are divine.  I’m hoping that my taste buds agree with what I am smelling.

According to the Foodcuate blog post, this can be eaten for breakfast. There’s whole grain, fruit and low in sugar.

It’s simple.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crisp Recipe

(makes 8 servings)

2 large stalks rhubarb, chopped (about 3 cups)
1/2 pound strawberries, hulled and sliced
2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon cornstarch (optional)
1 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons butter or coconut oil

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl mix together rhubarb, strawberries, and honey. Add cornstarch if you want a thick “pie-like” consistency. Spoon into ramekins ensuring a good mix of strawberries and rhubarb in each one.

In the same bowl, mix oats, sugar, cinnamon, and butter until crumbly. Spread over the top of the fruit.

Bake for 30 minutes until rhubarb is tender and the topping is browned. Serve warm with a dollop of whipped cream (optional).

For one serving = 117 calories, 3.7 g fat, 20.2 g carbohydrates, 10.7 g sugar, 2.0 g protein, 2.6 g fiber, 25 mg sodium, 3 PointsPlus

Have you ever had rhubarb? Let me know if you give it a try.

