Tags

,

There’s something to be said for being committed to a healthier lifestyle.

I definitely believe that I am. I made the decision almost a year ago to try things a little differently than I had in the past.

But I am being tested by my commitment this summer. In order to stay on track and meet my new goals, I must get up and run with a small but growing group from Black Girls RUN! Columbia that we call Team 5 am. Yes, they meet at 5 am a couple times a week to get in 3-6 miles.

The distance isn’t a problem. It’s the time of day. For the past 9 months, I have  been a faithful leader and cheerleader for evening running. It would allow for me to get the stress of the day out as well as help my mind slow down a little bit. The other problem with running before the sun comes up is going to bed early. I am a night owl and my brain seems to go and go. I am not a fan of going to bed and just  lying there. I might as well get up and go do something if I can’t sleep.

I am going to give this Team 5 am thing a try. Well, I really don’t have a choice. I will be running the Philadelphia Half Marathon this November. So, today was the second time this week that I have joined the group. I didn’t want to get out of the bed at 430 am, but I did it. Now it is just a matter of keeping it going twice a week through the middle of August.

I wonder how many other people are like me and prefer evening workouts over mornings.

 

