Tags

, ,

Making meals with my godson has been very interesting and fun so far this summer. We’ve done several things and they still include vegetables I got in my Pickney’s Produce boxes this spring. This is one.

In the past week we have had some cool meals that have filled him, which is pretty hard to do. You see, he is an 8-year-old that seems to continuously tell me that he is hungry. At times I feel like I should just hook him up to the fridge and keep it going. He is a bottomless pit, as my mother would say.

What kid doesn’t enjoy pizza? I’m sure they are out there. But mine is not one of them. Knowing that, I decided we should make calzones. Here’s how we did it.

Sausage and Pepperoni Calzone

1 can of refrigerated pizza dough
1 1/2 cups of chopped cooked sausage
1 cup ricotta cheese
1 large egg
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup cheddar cheese
1 cup pepperoni slices
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup green peppers, cooked
1/4 cup chopped onions, cooked
1 large egg beaten with 1 teaspoon water to make an egg wash

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Combine the ricotta, egg, mozerella, sausage, garlic, peppers, onion, salt and pepper in a large bowl; stir to combine.

Roll out dough onto lined baking sheet. Place the cheese mixture onto half of the rolled out dough. Fold the dough over the mixture and seal the edges with the teeth of a fork.

Brush with egg wash and bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until the crust is golden brown. Remove the oven, cut into slices and serve.

Do you have a favorite dish to make with your kids? I’ll give you a hint to one of his other favorites…quesadillas. It’s up next.

