Tags

, ,

I’m still flying high from a fabulous weekend in Atlanta as a member of the Black Girls RUN! nation.

I, along with about 40 of my BGR! Columbia ladies, traveled to Atlanta for the inaugural Drive to End Hunger Conference Weekend, which included a 5K and 10K race on Sunday. We joined more than 3,000 people in the city from across the country for what has been building for the past year.

The countless hours of neighborhood runs, speed workouts, hill repeats and the near completion of the Couch to 5K program for BGR! Columbia’s newest members were well worth it as we ventured to the start line.

I have been running on and off over the past four years when I decided to run the Rock & Roll San Diego Half Marathon as a member of SC’s Leukemia and Lymphoma’s Team in Training program. But this past year has been different than all of the rest. My new running family has always been there when others have questioned the need to run as often as I do.

And call me crazy, but after running the hills in Atlanta I have come to realize that I need to tweak my training as I get ready to run the Philadelphia (HALF) Marathon in November. That means it’s time to get back to work with the support of BGR!

My running family is currently based in Columbia, SC, but Black Girls RUN! has also extended it to many cities across the country. I have run BGR! as I have traveled on business and pleasure including during the Christmas holiday outside of St. Louis, which took winter running to a whole new level those days. While in Atlanta, I met women from Chicago, Birmingham, South Florida, San Antonio, Little Rock, Sacramento, New York City and Baton Rouge. There’s never an excuse to leave my sneakers home because I don’t have anyone to run with. It’s easier than easier to find someone to run with as people participate.

This is a MOVEMENT and I am PROUD to be a part! Ladies, come join me. There’s no reason to sit on the sidelines watching and hoping to be a part.

