Tags

,

parentsExactly five years ago today, my life was changed forever.

It really started on January 4 with a phone call that continues to play over and over in my head.

Although he is no longer here with us physically, I do my best to remember the really good times we had.

My parents loved to take me and my brother to different places. They wanted to make sure that we were able to see more than the small town that we grew up in. It may not have been far away on some elaborate European trip, but those trips to Washington DC, Turtle Back Zoo, visit family in Philly, Keansburg Amusement Park, Asbury Park, Sesame Place and of course the Jersey Shore were the best.

It was fun. Even the one time I got really scared one one of those amusement park rides where it smooshes you against someone in the same car and just whips and whips you around. Well, everyone including my parents thought I was laughing as I was pressed against my dad. Umm, no. I was far from that. So, they ride operator kept going faster and faster.

They way my parents told it was that they thought I was really laughing and since my dad and I always went for those kind of daredevil rides, they didn’t think anything of it. HA!

Here is to remembering and honoring the past with hope for the future.

