Tags

,

IMAG0133I had the chance to visit the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial in Washington, D.C. last year. It is a place to just sit and take it all in after you read the quotes surrounding him.

I am reminded about that visit today, on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s 84th birthday.

I personally had my first overwhelming eye-opening of what Dr. King had done in the way it impacted my life as a freshman at Bloomsburg University. And since those days, I do my best to remember that he is integral to what I have today and how the road was paved for other African Americans.

While watching “King: Man of Peace in a Time of War” via Redbox Instant today, I am reminded again of the path that it has taken to get to 2013.

During an interview in 1967, King said, “I am not doing it for myself or my children or for the negro, but for America. I think if this problem isn’t solved the soul of our nation will be lost. The only way to redeem the soul of America is to remove, eradicate racism in order to make change.”

Change has definitely come. Change has come thanks to the relentless work of Dr. King and hundreds of leaders, known and unknown.

Happy Birthday, Dr. King.

