Tags

, , ,

20130127-203455.jpg?w=529One of the greatest joys I have is being a member and ambassador of Black Girls RUN! It is not only because of the changes I have experienced in my life, but also for the accomplishments of the ladies that I run with.

This past weekend I had the pleasure of seeing one of my Black Girls RUN! Columbia ladies complete her very first half marathon.

Our adventure began about a year ago when the ladies of BGR! South Florida posted images of their meet and greet before the 2012 ING Miami Marathon/Half Marathon. I was determined that I wanted to be in the mix for 2013. Miami, the sun and oh yeh, the run would be a perfect excuse to make my way back to south Florida. So, when one of my girls said she would make it her first half and registered, I knew it was on.

Throughout this year, she has gone from the couch to half marathon finisher.  And I’m beyond proud of her and her accomplishments.

20130127-204807.jpg
There’s also nothing like supporting those around you and running with the support of others as you wind your way around the streets of Miami. These women came from across the country to participate in the race.

For me, I wanted to set a personal best. I’ve trained well including logging miles on the pavement and adding cross training into the mix. But race day didn’t turn out as I had planned. Regardless, I was surrounded by some of the most phenomenal women that lace up their sneaks and hit the pavement day in and day out.

Our party on the pavement was real.

What kind of fun did you have over the weekend? Did you run a race?