Tags

, ,

Half marathon #5 complete

ING complete

It was not my best time, but I had an interesting time. I among many things, I spent the weekend in Miami with a few of my closest running friends.

20130128-085707.jpg

This race was one of the 2013 official Black Girls RUN! races. It’s great to hang out with running friends.

Bart Yasso and me

I got to meet Bart Yasso at the ING Miami Marathon expo. During the expo he shared some really good tips and even gave me a new takeaways when running long distances. It is so simple to think that about breaking up the race into smaller segments. So, for me I typically break it up into three mile increments until mile nine. I get a one mile reprieve and at mile 10, there’s just a 5K to go.

The course is super flat and beautiful. The temps went up pretty quickly after the race gun going off at 6:15 a.m. But I’m not complaining. Who wouldn’t love to come to South Florida in January when most of the country is freezing?

One thing I learned about the course is that a flat course may not be the course for everyone. I may not like hill work or running rolling hills, but I know they are important.

20130128-091456.jpg

Last but not least is the cool bling. It’s my first race medal that spins.

Do you have any tips you took away after your last race?